Florida Becomes 41st State to Ban Texting and Driving

Florida has become the 41st state to prohibit texting and driving. After years of political jockeying, the ban was finally signed into law.

Governor Rick Scott commented, “the 100 days between Memorial Day and Labor Day are known as the deadliest days on the road for teenagers. We must do everything we can at the state level to keep our teenagers and everyone on our roads safe. I cannot think of a better time to officially sign this bill into law.”

According to an insightful article, “SB 52 bans manual texting only while a vehicle is in motion, allowing drivers stopped in traffic or at stoplights to text. Additionally, texting while in motion will be a secondary offense, meaning a driver must be pulled over for another violation in order to get a texting ticket. A $30 fee will be imposed for the first offense, rising to $60 for a second. The legislation goes into effect Oct. 1.”

While this new law seems as though it will difficult to enforce, it is certainly a step in the right direction. At SafeAuto, we support any legislation that keeps drivers safe while on the road. Texting and driving is definitely dangerous and we agree that it should not be allowed.

Don’t text and drive and also don’t drive uninsured! For a free quote from the auto insurance company that will keep you legal for less, visit our website at www.safeauto.com.

Add Comment