Child Safety Laws By State

Every state has different child safety laws when it comes to vehicles, and you should always check those laws closely, as they may have very specific requirements involving weight and height. But, there are some general rules that apply to just about everyone.

– The states all seem to agree: around 8 years old is the time to get rid of the car and booster seats. However, most states recommend that children that age continue to sit in the back, and increasingly that’s becoming the law.

– They also all agree: less than one year gets a rear-facing car seat. Even the states with the loosest laws were pretty strict on that point.

– As a general range, one- to five-year-olds get the front-facing car seat. Some states skew slightly older on that recommendation, but generally, that’s the range.

Booster seats are for five- to seven-year- olds. Some states only require them if the child is below a certain height or weight.

– As a general rule, once the seat goes into storage, the state seatbelt laws come into play. Unless your state law doesn’t require buckling up, your child should have a seatbelt on…and you’ll be ticketed if he or she isn’t.

Here’s the chart; what laws are on the books in your state?

State

Rear Facing

Front Facing

Booster

Safety Belt

Alabama Less than 1 year 1-4 years 5 years 6-14 years
Alaska Less than 1 year 1-4 years 4-7 years 8-16 years
Arizona Less than 5 years Less than 5 years Less than 5 years After 5 years
Arkansas Less than 5 years Less than 5 years Less than 5 years 6-14 years
California Less than 5 years Less than 5 years Less than 5 years 6-15 years
Colorado Less than 1 year 1-3 years 4-7 years 8-15 years
Connecticut Less than 1 year 1-6 years 1-6 years 7-15 years
Delaware Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8-15 years
Florida Less than 3 years Less than 3 years Less than 3 years 3-15 years
Georgia Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Over 40 pounds
Hawaii Less than 3 years 4-7 years 4-7 years 4-7 years
Idaho Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 7-15 years
Illinois Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8-15 years
Indiana Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8-15 years
Iowa Less than 1 year 1-5 years 1-5 years 6-17 years
Kansas Less than 3 years 4-7 years 4-7 years 8-13 years
Kentucky Less than 6 years Less than 6 years Less than 6 years More than 6 years
Louisiana Less than 1 year 1-3 years 4-5 years 6-12 years
Maine Less than 8 years Less than 8 years Less than 8 years 8-17 years
Maryland Less than 8 years Less than 8 years Less than 8 years 8-15 years
Massachusetts Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8-12 years
Michigan Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8-15 years
Minnesota Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8 years onward
Mississippi Less than 4 years Less than 4 years 4-6 years 7 years onward
Missouri Less than 4 years 4-7 years 4-7 years 8-16 years
Montana Less than 6 years Less than 6 years Less than 6 years 6 years onward
Nebraska Less than 5 years Less than 5 years Less than 5 years 6-17 years
Nevada Less than 6 years Less than 6 years Less than 6 years 6 years onward
New Hampshire Less than 5 years Less than 5 years Less than 5 years 6-17 years
New Jersey Less than 8 years Less than 8 years Less than 8 years 8-17 years
New Mexico Less than 1 year 1-4 years 4-6 years 7-17 years
New York Less than 3 years Less than 3 y

ears

4-7 years 8-15 years
North Carolina Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8-15 years
North Dakota Less than 6 years Less than 6 years Less than 6 years 6 years onward
Ohio Less than 4 years Less than 4 years 4-7 years 8-14 years
Oklahoma Less than 5 years Less than 5 years Less than 5 years 6-12 years
Oregon Less than 1 year Less than 40 pounds Over 40 pounds Over 4’9” in height
Pennsylvania Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8 years onward
Rhode Island Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8 years onward
South Carolina Less than 1 year 1-5 years Over 5 years Over 80 pounds
South Dakota Less than 5 years Less than 5 years Less than 5 years 5-17 years
Tennessee Less than 1 year 1-3 years 4-8 years 9-15 years
Texas Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8 years onward
Utah Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8-15 years
Vermont Less than 1 year 2-7 years 2-7 years 7 years onward
Virginia Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8-17 years
Washington Less than 8 years Less than 8 years Less than 8 years 8-15 years
West Virginia Less than 7 years Less than 7 years Less than 7 years 8 years onward
Wisconsin Less than 1 year 1-3 years 4-7 years 8 years onward
Wyoming Less than 8 years Less than 8 years Less than 8 years 8 years onward

If you need car insurance, check out SafeAuto.com

Add Comment